Maybe You Had Your Reasons

Loosely inspired by the Amazon fire and all the news around climate change.

.

You say you had your reasons,

I thought you were in need of more wood,

Maybe it’s just your big family and this cold season,

Maybe I’m defending you more than I should,

.

Engulfed in flames, not for the first time,

I’ve been through worse before and survived,

And you’re yet to pay the dues for your petty crimes,

For this isn’t mere sustenance you’ve derived,

.

This goes to those who propagate anarchy,

Why act morally at all? – You pseudo-intellectuals ask,

Triumphing like a dictator over nature’s hierarchy,

In this vile solitude, you will eventually bask,

.

And You – the backseat driver on social media,

There’s blood on your hands too and you know it,

What’s the point of your education, all your academia?

If comments, likes and shares is all you deem fit,

.

Of course – there’s always those who live under a rock,

Blissfully ignorant and unaware of my unceasing turmoil,

News, alerts, petitions – all that steal your attention you block,

A pity you care less for where you’ll be interred – this soil,

.

You call it climate change, I call it murder,

But maybe you had a reason for creating this mess,

You notice rains getting heavier, summers getting hotter,

And wonder if there’s a reason for my wrath and unrest,

.

You may brew winter indoors and calm yourselves,

But be forewarned – I’ve my ways of calling for a system reset,

Winter is coming – Yes – you said it yourselves,

Well-earned and more deserved than the problems that beset,

.

You’ve worked up a recipe for disaster,

And you will get served what’s coming,

You played the fool – I’ll always be the master,

You will learn respect – I will tame your ways cunning,

.

But then maybe you had your reasons,

Nature’s most gifted intellectual animal that you are,

Maybe self-awareness inevitably leads to treason,

I willed a thoughtful protector and got a villain in a getaway car.

Leave a comment