Peekaboo

A touch concerned, I feel fear,
Looming shadows as night draws near,
Mirrors reflect what the eyes don’t see,
Spirits once conjured now roam free,
~
The glint of light under the door,
Your stroller moves of its own accord,
Your scribbles on the wall, they move too,
And I sense you hiding, playing peekaboo,
~
Your gurgle and laughter fill empty rooms,
Misshapen shadows embrace full moons,
The sound of you treading softly on the carpet,
Sends me popping pills for my rising heart rate,
~
Your calls for Ma sending chills down my spine,
As I pray that I’m forgiven for these sins of mine,
I find the last photo I’d taken of my dead son,
I hide in the closet as I begin to hear you run,
~
Morning comes and I hear the TV on,
Channels of static changing, as I hear your yawn,
I’m drenched in the sweat of the past five years,
Belief tested with these stubborn scars and tears,
~
With slow breaths, through the keyhole I survey,
My heart in my throat, mind filled with dismay,
My eyes register your searing, bloody red eye,
“Peekaboo, I see you!, you laugh as I begin to cry.

Leave a comment