Closer to the end

These seconds don’t pass slowly,
Clocks stare from every corner,
A sullen face, I’m the disappointment,
On the road to hell, it’s getting warmer,
~
Closer to the end than the beginning,
I’ve still not figured this life out,
Who I am, what I’m meant to be,
Unanswered questions, anxiety, doubt,
~
If Dumbledore awaits with a sorting hat,
Tell him I believe I’ll open at the close,
I’ll create a checklist to resurrect my deeds,
Collect anecdotes from friends and foes,
~
Don’t rush me life for I’m not him,
I think in long sips and speak in sighs,
Don’t judge my life by what I’ve done,
For I’m afraid it’s pretty concise,
~
What I can tell you is I’ve lost a lot,
And I’m looking forward to the end,
Expecting to be reunited with many,
Lost quarters, lost lovers and friends.

Leave a comment